Examining nuclear physics research at Moscow University and watching future astronauts being trained, visiting research institutes to discuss about conservation and energy, biology and ground-breaking medical initiatives, engineering and science policy: this was the focus of just a few recently organised study trips by EUSJA. Held in Finland, Estonia, Croatia, France, Italy, Germany and Hungary the trips furthered accurate information interchange between European journalists and science communicators and policy makers.

Founded in 1971 in Belgium by seven national associations of science journalists, EUSJA now represents around 2000 science journalists from 22 countries. Following the collapse of the Berlin Wall in 1989 there was an upsurge of interest from Eastern European countries, that now play an active role in EUSJA’s activities.

Member countries are (as of October 2012):  Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

The main goals of EUSJA are truly barrier-breaking by aiming to improve communication between the international scientific community and society and to promote contacts between journalists in the field of scientific and technical communication.

EUSJA has its head office in Strasbourg at Euroscience – where it has its own secretariat. An electronic mailing list only open to science writers who are members of a national association within EUSJA keeps ensures an instant cross flow of ideas, stories and contacts.

You can download the EUSJA Constitution 2018 as PDF.

EUSJA, c/o Euroscience
1 quai Lezay-Marnésia
67000 Strasbourg, France
Tel: +33 (0) 3 88 24 71 98
E-mail: eusja@euroscience.org

About the Author

Self-employed science journalist and food writer based in Copenhagen. Specialises in food science, nutrition and sustainability.