Press Scholarships for the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize Award Ceremony in Bergen

The EUSJA is pleased to announce 2 press scholarships to attend the award ceremony for the 2018 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize and related events that will take place in Bergen, Norway, between the 4th and the 6th of June, 2018. The winning journalists will be the guests of the Holberg Prize and the University of Bergen and will be invited to all the events, including the Award Ceremony and the Governement Banquet on 6 June.

The scholarships cover travel expenses, hotel, and meals. The winners will be selected by the European Union of Science Journalists’ Association (EUSJA). An interview with the Holberg Laureate and/or the Nils Klim Laureate may be arranged.

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The Prize is worth NOK 6 million (appr.USD 770,000).

The Holberg Board has decided to award the 2018 Holberg Prize 2018 to American legal scholar Cass Sunstein for his wide-ranging, original, prolific and highly influential research in law and related fields. Professor Sunstein’s research has not only redefined several academic fields; it has also had a far-reaching impact on public policy. His scholarship spans several major areas: behavioral economics and public policy, constitutional law and democratic theory, legal theory and jurisprudence, administrative law, and the regulation of risk.

The Nils Klim Prize is awarded annually to a Nordic researcher under the age of 35 who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the fields covered by the Holberg Prize. The Prize is worth NOK 500,000 (appr. EUR 52,000).

The Holberg Board has decided to award the 2018 Nils Klim Prize 2018 to Norwegian political scientist Francesca R. Jensenius, for her research on electoral dynamics, development, and the empowerment of women and minority groups in India and elsewhere. Dr. Jensenius is currently Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Oslo.

The Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize will both be conferred during a ceremony in the University Aula in Bergen on 6 June.

Visit the Holberg Prize website for more information on the Holberg Prize, the Nils Klim Laureate and the Holberg Week events.

 The scholarships

  • The Holberg Prize will cover travel and accommodation expenses, as well as meals.
  • The journalists will be invited to attend the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize Award Ceremony, and the Government Banquet, on 6 June, as well as all other events during the Holberg Week.
  • An interview with the Holberg Laureate, the Nils Klim Laureate and/or other prominent speakers at the academic events may be arranged.

 Application Deadline

Applications must be received no later than Friday 11 May 2018.


All journalists may apply. It is preferable the applicant has experience in covering issues related to one or more of the academic fields covered by the Holberg Prize.

Selection committee and decision

The EUSJA administers the competition and is responsible for the selection of the winning journalists. The jury will select the two journalists on the basis of his/her letter of application and experience.

To apply

A letter of applications and a CV should be sent electronically to

As subject headline, please write “The Holberg Prize/EUSJA” or “The Nils Klim Prize/EUSJA.”


Photo: statue of Ludvig Holberg in Bergen



, ,