Year 2016 – now open for science journalism association nominations

Winner has a ticket to ECSJ!* By Sallie Robins, Association of British Science Writers After the success of last year’s first ever European Science Writer of the Year Award, the ABSW is […]

logo ABSW

Winner has a ticket to ECSJ!*

By Sallie Robins, Association of British Science Writers

After the success of last year’s first ever European Science Writer of the Year Award, the ABSW is asking all European science journalism associations for their nominations for this year’s Award supported by Janssen Research and Development.

Last year saw Tanja Rudez, science reporter at Jutarnji List daily, Croatia, nominated by the Croatian Association of Science Journalists, win the Award with the runners up being Jop De Vrieze, freelance journalist, The Netherlands, nominated by VWN (Dutch Association of Science Journalists) and Ewen Callaway, senior reporter, Nature, UK, nominated by the Association of British Science Writers.

The Association of British Science Writers (ABSW) runs annual Awards for British and Irish science journalists. With the support of our sponsor Janssen Research and Development we introduced an award for ‘European Science Writer of the Year’ in 2015.

There are obviously many potential logistical problems with opening an award for journalism right across Europe. So in the first instance, we felt it practical to limit the Award to the written word, including print or written online journalism in the form of news, features or blogs. This will make translation (if translated articles don’t already exist) far easier than if we were to accept broadcast entries.

We also felt that to manage this Award, it would be best to engage the European Associations representing science journalists, asking each Association to put forward a nomination for their chosen ‘Science Writer of the Year’. The method by which the Association chooses its nominee is entirely down to that Association.

The ABSW will choose its nominee by asking the ABSW membership to make nominations which can then be judged by the ABSW Board, a process we have successfully used for our annual Lifetime Achievement award for many years. The nominations received from throughout Europe will then be assessed by a judging panel of science journalists selected for their knowledge and experience.

When you have decided on your nomination then please make your entry via the online entry form. You may also want to take a look at this form in order to ensure you gain appropriate information about potential nominees during your selection process. A key requirement is that supporting work should have been published in the entry year which runs 1 January 2015 – 31 December 2015. You must also seek permission from the relevant journalist/writer before making the nomination.

The deadline for making your nomination is 17:00 on Friday 15 April 2016.

The winner will be announced at an Awards Ceremony which this year will be held as part of the 3rd European Conference of Science Journalists in Manchester, UK on Saturday 23 July 2016. The winner will be invited to attend with funding available to enable them to make this visit and attend the Conference.

The ABSW Awards are a celebration of science journalism in Britain and Ireland, and are much appreciated by journalists as they are always judged and/or nominated by their peers. The ABSW is delighted that this ethos can now be extended to our science journalism colleagues throughout Europe.

Application form

More information

About Hanns-J. Neubert

Hanns-J. Neubert is a freelance science journalist. He is member of the board of the German science writers TELI, where he has been chaiman from 2001 to 2013. He served EUSJA between 2004 and 2012 as Vice-Preisident and President.