European Science TV & New Media Festival & Awards 2017/18

The organizers of the Festival are pleased to announce the Call for TV programmes or New Media productions for the 2017/18 European Science TV and New Media Festival and Awards. The range of categories is similar to that in 2016, expanded to nine Awards set out below. These include all the TV and New Media genres and Science in Society categories from previous years plus two subject based prizes following the success of the Physics Prize over the last two years. The festival and awards will again be in Lisbon, Portugal, but the season has changed to avoid a clash of activities in Lisbon, so will be in March 2018. 
The deadline for entries in all the nine categories is Friday 30 June 2017.

List of Categories

A production can be eligible in more than one category; these may be designated either by the entrant or the organizers. The “genre” categories are:

The Best European Production involving Science in the following four genres:

  • TV Documentary
  • TV Drama and Docu-drama
  • TV General programmes like magazines or current affairs (an item or a complete programme)
  • Informational or promotional Video and Productions for the Web or Science Centres/Museums

The three so-called “Science in Society” areas are:

  • The Environment
  • Medical Research
  • Women in Science

And the two categories focusing on areas of science and technology are:

  • The best production presenting Physics.
  • The best production presenting any branch of Engineering

There will also be dialogue created on Facebook and Twitter in relation to issues in the films and in the festival discussion. This will be flagged in advance and continue during the festival.

The Festival and Awards 2017/18 is organized jointly by EuroScience, Apordoc Portugal, and EuroPAWS.

More about this call and how to apply:



, ,